The Number One Website for Cochin City. Wednesday, August 15, 2018  |  10:00:05 PM
Bangalore | Chennai MumbaiNew Delhi | Goa | Hyderabad | Pune | Jaipur | Coimbatore | Kolkata | Ahmedabad
Home Sightseeing Hotels Eatouts & Pubs Learn Malayalam IT & Bio-Tech Real Estate Lifestyle & Fasion Panorama 360° Photo Features City Life Style Art & Culture Yellow Pages
Cochin Hotels
Sight Seeing
Tips for Visitors
Learn Malayalam
Facts and Data
NGO Watch
Trade & Commerce
Mollywood showing signs of revival, says jury


The experimental methods employed by the Malayalam film industry to overcome several years of slowdown in the industry have begun to bear fruit, the jury for the State film awards 2011 has observed.
The committee, chaired by director Bhagyaraj, said the new generation of film-makers had made brave attempts to break out of the ossified system that had resulted in repetitive themes. As many as 41 films, one short film and five documentaries were submitted for the awards.

Mr. Bhagyaraj said selection of films for the award was a challenging task. “Most of the entries were box office hits, yet of good quality”. He said the jury’s choice was through consensus.

Mr. Bhagyaraj told reporters that the quality of most films was better than in the previous years. The committee hoped the experimental approach and new trends would spur the Malayalam film industry to new heights in the years to come.

Mr. Bhagyaraj, however, stressed the need to promote documentaries and short films that represent a powerful medium to chronicle the life and culture of a generation.

Minister for Cinema K.B. Ganeshkumar said it was gratifying that the jury had recognised the new trends in Malayalam cinema. “It is evident that star value was not the criterion for selection of the awards,” he said.

The jury included B. Ajayan, B. Arundhati, K.R. Meera, C.R. Chandran, T.K. Lawrence, Aryadan Shoukath and K. Manojkumar. The judging committee for the writings on cinema included George Onakkoor as chairman and Sibi Kattampally, T. Anithakumari and K. Manojkumar as members.